PDA

View Full Version : Want to start collecting, worried about decay

CosmicDwarf
02-10-2013, 04:03 PM
Good afternoon gentlemen. I'd just like to say that I am completely new to this kind of thing - although I've always been a gamer and I've been gathering up games over the years I've never "collected" properly, but I'm quite interested now in building up a good collection of games and gaming hardware/consoles.

However, I understand that problems exist such as the demagnetization of hard drives and CDs/DVDs and the general decay of hardware across the board (cartridges, casettes for stuff like the sinclair spectrum etc). I really want to just go out and start buying myself an NES, SNES, a Saturn with Quake 1, all sorts - I'm just so worried that in about 20 years time it'll all be scrap.

I know it wouldn't be the same as me spending all that money for nothing, seeing as I'd enjoy the hell out of it (I'm not going to collect with the aim of increasing its value, rather I just want to play the games) but if I start collecting something like that I'd like it to last.

Do you guys have any advice?

Yours sincerely,

CosmicDwarf

Dreamcazman
02-11-2013, 12:00 PM
You can't really do anything about it unfortunately, nothing lasts forever. :(

Good thing is though that old consoles don't seem to die. My Neogeo & Megadrive consoles are over 20 years old and they still work great. I don't expect my 360 or PS3 to last as long, probably because technology is much more complex nowadays and more problems can arise.

If you want to just play the games, you might be better off experimenting with emulators to begin with. It'll be far cheaper, but having said that, some purists insist that there's nothing like playing on the real thing.

Most of us here are into collecting current games moreso than the retro stuff.

kittychloe
02-11-2013, 02:18 PM