PDA

View Full Version : General Press kit Question

bazzaffc
05-03-2013, 08:37 AM
Hi all I'm fairly new to collecting bits just started off with the odd CE of some games but really do like some of the more unusual stuff that gets released.

I see a lot of press kits on here like the new bioshock one for example but how do you guys get hold of them in the first place?

Is it just a case of waiting for them to go on eBay or do you just have to be lucky and no someone that gets given one in the first place??

vhal_x
05-03-2013, 08:43 AM
Bit of both :p xx

flatout
05-27-2013, 06:10 PM
Hi all I'm fairly new to collecting bits just started off with the odd CE of some games but really do like some of the more unusual stuff that gets released.

I see a lot of press kits on here like the new bioshock one for example but how do you guys get hold of them in the first place?

Is it just a case of waiting for them to go on eBay or do you just have to be lucky and no someone that gets given one in the first place??

Like vhal said a bit of both.

I would say most of it is someone knows someone who gets them or who works for a company that gets them.

A lot of what I see is friends of the people who get them have them given to them and then that person sells them (maybe with an agreement with the friend for the profits).

The biggest issue it the members of the gaming press cannot sell them themselves becasue it would be unethical. It would equate to more of a bribe then it already does (not that it does but in the eyes of some people it does), and it would reflect badly on the company they work for and they could lose their job.

Another way is some kits are given away to people as prizes by the journalist or companies.

But few come directly to eBay from the original journalist who got it, and if they do it is usually a brand new eBay account to protect themselves.

Anyways just my 2 cents on the matter.

SwiftDeath
05-27-2013, 06:33 PM