PDA

View Full Version : Should I Sleeve?

Alaniata
04-28-2014, 01:46 PM
Hello my fellow collectors!

I'm quite new to the edition-collecting business, only a few years in and a couple of 20-30 editions stacked up. But I've been wondering: The protective sleeve most editions come in, over their beautiful collectors box. Should that be removed, or is the game considered "incomplete" then? I'm very torn about this so I would like to hear what you oldies think :)

KnightOfTruth
04-28-2014, 02:14 PM
Welcome, and really its totally up to you.

How do YOU want to collect? Do you display said CE boxes out in the open or do they just sit piled up in a closet/basement/storage bin/etc. somewhere?

Me personally, if there was an outer sleeve on the package, I would consider it "incomplete" if I was purchasing it and it was not included. So purely from a re-sell standpoint I'd recommend you keeping them. But if you don't want it to cover your display boxes, most of them can be folded up without too much hassle, just fold them flat and keep 'em between tWo pieces of cardboard to avoid any damage would be my recommendation.

At the end of the day though your collection is YOUR collection - there's no necessarily wrong or right way to do it, well, at least in my opinion. ;)

GameTrigger
04-28-2014, 02:15 PM
I try open my boxes so, that I can leave original protection sleeve/plastic - but that's only for protection reason.

Alaniata
04-28-2014, 02:23 PM
Cheers, thanks for your input... Right now I do a "semi-display" but I really wanna do a full display when i get the space, get the figures out of the boxes and stuff... I might do a stack-up of some sort like you suggest, but that just takes up more room...

comaamen86
04-28-2014, 05:29 PM
Protective sleeves are for hardcore collectors to protect against love juice and saliva

I and others that don't give a fuck use a rock or shoe to keep steels dust free

Alaniata
04-28-2014, 06:12 PM