PDA

View Full Version : Fake steelbooks

origammirip789
12-07-2019, 09:52 AM
Was sent this link and this is pissing me off https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.de%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F283 701369420

They are now packing fake steelbooks into plastic wrap ant put a sticker on with usual steelbook info.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

L1Slayer
12-07-2019, 04:57 PM
I'm curios how do you identify it as fake? Is there any indication besides the fakt that a steelbook of this design might never have existed?
I Always assumed one can only creat "stickerbooks" with putting foil on the steel.
This one doesn't seem like one. Then again, I'm not a pro :)

Edit: This auction also caught my Attention:
https://www.ebay.de/itm/FINAL-FANTASY-XV-Steelbook-PS4-aus-UCE-Brandneu-Verschweißt/184002694413?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649
As far as I'm Aware, the steelbooks that came in the UCE of FFXV were not sealed. (Mine sure as hell weren't)
But there was an issue with People not getting the correct Steels in their CE, so Square issues replacements. Dunno if These were sealed or not.

Neboolah
12-07-2019, 09:37 PM
If there is someone who can create custom steelbooks than I am happy. I seen on many pages great digital images for steelbooks that looks much better than the original.

For me I would pay a nice price for my own custom steel but the ebay auction is a joke. A seller on private marcetplace sell the exact same steel of tlof for 20 bucks......

GameTrigger
12-08-2019, 01:05 AM
Custom steelbooks are ok (not my cup of tea) but BIG NO for fake ones :protest:

uncommonnl
12-08-2019, 11:01 AM
Selling it as a "custom" steelbook is one thing (could be construed as copyright infringement). But selling a steelbook and making it look like a genuine product whilst It isn't is just criminal.

Neboolah
12-08-2019, 07:00 PM
Is 5his a steelbook or just a foil on a steel?

freefo
12-09-2019, 04:51 AM