Collectors Edition Forums

Go Back   Collectors Edition Forums > The Lounge > General Collecting Chat

Old 11-13-2012, 05:43 AM

LonestarGoner's Flag is: United States Michigan, USA
Send a message via AIM to LonestarGoner
Default Do not support the vga!

Let me start by saying that I have done and still do professional video game appraisal. I have a degree in history and have knowledge and skill in museum practices - preservation, inspection, repair and reconstruction, etc. I detest the (so-called) Video Game Authority! As a collector and appraiser, they are the worst charlatans in the game collecting community. If you keep collector pieces, do not use them for appraisal. Here is why:

1. No list of qualifications. True, there is no formally recognized body that certifies appraisers. VGA, however, does not list a SINGLE credential on its website - they only list "years of experience". No degrees, no affiliations with appraisal societies (of which there are MANY reputable), nothing.

2. Everything is done in secret. This is claimed to be for safety and security, but that's bunk. If that we're the case, all appraisals would be done secretly - not, for example, on television like the Antiques Roadshow. The appraisers name and business is always listed on the show, so if you were curious you could just look it up. Not true for the VGA - no names or locations.

3. No external observation. All grade scales, all packaging, all oversight (if any) is done in-house. No one to verify if they are legit, which is a HUGE red-flag and basically admittance they are not. Reputable archival houses (museums, antique auction houses, etc.) will allow others from time to time to look over their work, as a way to say to the public "We are legitimate."